Birth and Death Certificates
Individuals may apply (in-person or by mail) for birth and death certificates at the Adair County Health Department.
The application for obtaining a copy of a vital record requires applicants to explain their relationship to the person named on the record. Missouri law only allows a certified copy of a vital record to be issued to a person with a direct and tangible interest in the record.
Obtaining a vital record illegally is a class D felony.
STEP 1: Complete and sign the “Application For A Vital Record”. This form can be requested from our clerks or downloaded online with the button above.
STEP 2: Provide identification. One identity document that displays a name and photograph, such as a driver’s license, passport, or school, work, or military identification. This identification is preferred and must include the applicant’s name and the name of the company or organization issuing the document. If you do not have a photo ID, at least two alternate forms of identification must be presented as follows:
- two pieces of mail with name and address
- one piece of mail with name and address and social security card
STEP 3: Review the certificate for accuracy and pay fees.
Certificates obtained in person usually take about 15 minutes to process.
Apply By Mail
STEP 1: Complete (but do not sign) the “Application For A Vital Record”. This form can be downloaded online with the button above.
STEP 2: Have your “Application For A Vital Record” form notarized (you will sign your form in front of the Notary).
STEP 3: Include a self addressed envelope, with postage, your payment with notarized application, and mail all items to the Health Department:
Adair County Health Department
1001 S. Jamison
Kirksville, MO 63501
Certificates by mail usually are processed within one day of receipt.
Birth Certificate General Information
- Must be born in the state of Missouri
- Certificates date back to 1920
- For newborns, please allow 4-6 weeks before applying
- Birth certificates cost $15 for each copy
Death Certificate General Information
- Must have died in the state of Missouri
- Certificates date back to 1980
- Death certificates cost $14 for the 1st copy and $11 for additional copies ordered at the same time
Payment of Fees
- The Health Department accepts payment of fees by cash, money order or personal check
- Individuals obtaining birth and death certificates in-person may also pay with major credit cards or debit cards